Composition of the Ramsar Scientific and Technical Review Panel – 2019-2021 triennium

Date: 07.03.2019

Dear Heads of Administrative Authority and National Focal Points,
The Ramsar Secretariat would like to acknowledge and express thanks for the numerous nominations of experts received, and more broadly for the commitment and engagement of Contracting Parties and Partners in the conformation of the Panel.
We are pleased to announce that, pursuant to the process outlined in Resolution XII.5 on New framework for delivery of scientific and technical advice and guidance on the Convention, the Management Working Group of the Standing Committee has appointed the new members of the Scientific and Technical Review Panel (STRP) for the 2019-2021 triennium, as follows:
STRP Chair and Vice-Chair:
  • David Stroud (Europe, United Kingdom) (Chair)
  • Lisa-Maria Rebelo (Asia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic) (reappointment) (Vice-Chair)
Six Regional Technical Experts:
  • Reda Fishar (Africa, Egypt)
  • Acharya Hari Bhadra (Asia, Nepal)
  • David Stroud (Europe, United Kingdom) (STRP Chair)
  • Dulce Infante (North America, México)
  • Edson Junqueira (Latin America and the Caribbean, Brazil)
  • Hugh Robertson (Oceania, New Zealand)
Six Technical Experts:
  • Professor Kassim Kulindwa (Africa, Tanzania) (reappointment)
  • Professor Lei Guangchun (Asia, China) (reappointment)
  • Ritesh Kumar (Asia, India) (reappointment)
  • Lars Dinesen (Europe, Denmark) (reappointment)
  • Laura Martinez (North America, Mexico) (reappointment)
  • Georgina Ivonne Mariona Castillo (Latin America and the Caribbean, El Salvador)
Six Scientific Experts:
  • Professor Joseph Elizeri Mbaiwa (Africa, Botswana)

  • Lisa-Maria Rebelo (Asia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic) (reappointment) (Vice-Chair)

  • Professor Sangdon Lee (Asia, Republic of Korea)

  • Professor Andrei Sirin (Europe, Russian Federation)

  • Professor Daniel Conde (Latin America and the Caribbean, Uruguay)

  • Professor Siobhan Fenessy (North America, United States of America) (reappointment)

Additionally, in line with the process in Resolution XII.5, invited Observer Organizations (including International Organization Partners) outlined in Annex 3 of Resolution XIII.8 on Future implementation of scientific and technical aspects of the Convention for 2019-2021 have designated their representatives to the STRP for 2019-2021 or are in the process of doing so.
22nd meeting of the STRP (STRP22)
The 22nd meeting of the STRP (STRP22) will be the first meeting of the new Panel; it will take place from 18 to 22 March 2019 in Gland, Switzerland. During this meeting the new Panel will draft its work plan for the 2019-2021 triennium, for approval by the Standing Committee at its 57th meeting (24 to 28 June 2019).
Yours sincerely,
Martha Rojas Urrego
Secretary General
Martha Rojas Urrego
Secretary General
Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
28 rue Mauverney, CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel. +41 22 999 0180; mobile +41 79 570 7376 fax +41 22 999 0169